Enron Mail

To:greg.whalley@enron.com, louise.kitchen@enron.com, jay.fitzgerald@enron.com,stephen.horn@enron.com, andy.zipper@enron.com, allan.sommer@enron.com, michael.miller@enron.com, john.norden@enron.com, drew.ries@enron.com
Subject:Venture News, Friday, December 1, 2000
Date:Fri, 1 Dec 2000 02:36:00 -0800 (PST)

It is a slow news day; have a great weekend!

o Patent & License Exchange Establishes Pl-X Japan

PASADENA, Calif. -- The Patent & License Exchange
(pl-x), an online marketplace for the exchange of
intellectual property; Softbank Finance; and Itochu
have agreed to establish pl-x Japan. Pl-x Japan
will function as a wholly-owned subsidiary of the
Patent & License Exchange. The new subsidiary will
provide Japanese businesses, universities, and organizations
with access to Pl-x's financial services, such
as a market-driven intellectual property valuation
system, patent validity insurance, and transaction
assurance services. The Patent & License Exchange
is backed by TMCT Ventures, Softbank, Ernst & Young,
STI Ventures, Itochu, Baring Private Equity, PolyTechnos
Venture Partners, Eastman Chemical, Tarrant Venture
Partners, Bartlit Beck Partners, and UnionBanCal

o Energy Software Firm Excelergy Names New CEO, President

LEXINGTON, Mass. -- Excelergy, a software provider
for the global energy markets, said it has appointed
William Mahoney, the former president of System
& Computer Technology, as its new president and
CEO. Mr. Mahoney will also join Excellergy's board
of directors, taking over the day-to-day operations
of the company. Excelergy is backed by Nassau Capital,
Portal Software, Battery Ventures, and Hummer Windblad
Venture Partners.

Winners Announced for 2000 FT Energy Global Awards

NEW YORK, Dec. 1 /PRNewswire/ -- Financial Times Energy (FT Energy) has
announced the winners in all 13 categories of the FT Energy Global Awards
sponsored by Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu. The companies below have been
nominated as leading the way in their respective categories. The winners were
announced at a gala celebration on November 30, 2000 in New York.

*Denotes winner(s)
Most Promising Pre-Commercial Technology Development
*Innogy Technology Ventures Ltd.
Aspen Systems Corporation
Fuelcell Energy Inc.
Sage Systems, Inc.
Urenco (Capenhurst) Limited
Most Innovative Commercial Technology Development
*Capstone Turbine Corporation
Catalitica Combustion Systems, Inc.
Fortum Energy House Ltd.
Silicon Energy Corporation
Best Community Service Program
*ScottishPower plc
Los Angeles Department of Water and Power
Memphis Light Gas & Water
MidAmerican Energy
Sacramento Municipal Utility District
Best Overall Marketing Campaign
*Centrica plc
*PT Adaro Indonesia
Los Angeles Department of Water and Power
Southern Company Energy Marketing
Best Environmental Practice
ISG Resources, Inc.
Los Angeles Department of Water and Power
Sydkraft AB
Boldest Successful Investment Decision
* EnronOnline
National Grid Company plc
PowerGen plc
ScottishPower plc
Boldest Strategic Merger
Calpine Corporation
Dominion Resources
PECO Energy Company
Best Renewables Company
*Energia Hidroelectrica de Navarra
National Wind Power
Verbund AG
Xcel Energy Inc.
Best Coal Company
*Peabody Group
Anglo Coal
AT Massey Coal Company, Inc.
Glencore International AG
PT Adaro Indonesia
Best Oil and Gas Company
*Tyumen Oil Company
ATP Oil & Gas Corporation
BG Group plc
Shell Oil Company
Best Electricity Company
*Calpine Corporation
*ScottishPower plc
AES Corporation
Electricite de France
CEO of the Year
*David L. Sokol, MidAmerican Energy Holding Company
Peter Cartwright, Calpine Corporation
A.W. "Bill" Dahlberg, Southern Company
Kenneth L. Lay, Enron Corporation
Richard B. Priory, Duke Energy Corporation
Energy Company of the Year
*Enron Corporation
Duke Energy Corporation
Reliant Energy
Southern Company
Tractebel S.A./N.V.